Learn how to prevent deleting Internet Explorer’s passwords in Windows 7.
This policy setting is used to prevent users from deleting passwords. This feature is available in the Delete Browsing History dialog box.
If you enable this policy setting, passwords will be preserved when the user clicks Delete.
If you disable this policy setting, passwords will be deleted when the user clicks Delete.
If you do not configure this policy setting, the user will be able to choose whether to delete or preserve passwords when the user clicks Delete.
If the “Turn off Delete Browsing History functionality” policy is enabled, this policy is enabled by default.
Prevent Deleting Passwords in IE
- Type gpedit.msc in the Start menu’s search box and then press Enter.
Note: This guide shows you how to make changes to Windows 7 using Group Policy. Group Policy is not available in Home versions of Windows 7.
- Navigate to User Configuration, Administrative Templates, Windows Components, Internet Explorer, and then select Delete Browsing History in the left column of the Group Policy editor.
- Double-click Prevent Deleting Passwords in the Settings section of the Group Policy editor.
- Select Enable and then click OK to save the changes.
Still need help? Ask your computer question now.