Home » Guides » Personalization »

Published on 06.15.09 by Brent Trahan

Prevent Deleting Temporary Internet Files in Internet Explorer

Learn how to prevent someone from deleting Internet Explorer’s temporary Internet files in Windows 7.

This policy setting is used to prevent users from deleting temporary Internet files. This feature is available in the Delete Browsing History dialog box.

If you enable this policy setting, temporary Internet files will be preserved when the user clicks Delete.

If you disable this policy setting, temporary Internet files will be deleted when the user clicks Delete.

If you do not configure this policy setting, the user will be able to choose whether to delete or preserve temporary Internet files when the user clicks Delete.

If the “Turn off Delete Browsing History functionality” policy is enabled, this policy is enabled by default.

Prevent Deleting Temporary Internet Files in IE

  1. Type gpedit.msc in the Start menu’s search box and then press Enter.

    Note: This guide shows you how to make changes to Windows 7 using Group Policy. Group Policy is not available in Home versions of Windows 7.

  2. Navigate to User Configuration, Administrative Templates, Windows Components, Internet Explorer, and then select Delete Browsing History in the left column of the Group Policy editor.

    prevent-deleting-ie-temporary-internet-files-1

  3. Double-click Prevent Deleting Temporary Internet Files in the Settings section of the Group Policy editor.
  4. Select Enable and then click OK to save the changes.

    prevent-deleting-ie-temporary-internet-files-2

Still need help? Ask your computer question now.

Related Guides:

One Response to “Prevent Deleting Temporary Internet Files in Internet Explorer”

Subscribe to this guide's comments RSS feed.

  1. Malvi says:

    I got exactly the same pberlom with suse 11.4 kde .yesterday when I want to launch Skype , the windows skype appeared and and 10 second later closed , when I tried to start with konsole i Got the same but with the konsole I got this message in french abandon abandon means in english renunciation , make over . after some trial , with others computers with also suse 11.4 I did not have this pberlom I decide to erase in /Home the folder .skype I launched Skype , I accept the licence , introduced login and Pasword and a New folder .skype has been ceated . and it’s runing wellPierre

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this guide's comments RSS feed.

Microsoft Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation. Microsoft Corporation in no way endorses or is affiliated with MAXIMUMpcguides.com. All other products mentioned are registered trademarks of their respective companies. MAXIMUMpcguides IS NOT RESPONSIBLE for any damage or data loss to your computer from using this web site. All information on MAXIMUMpcguides is provided on an AS IS basis with NO WARRANTIES.

Copyright 2006-2016 Brent Trahan. All rights reserved.