Learn how to prevent someone from deleting Internet Explorer’s history in Windows 7.
This policy setting prevents users from deleting the history of Web sites the user has visited. This feature is available in the Delete Browsing History dialog box.
If you enable this policy setting, Web sites that the user has visited will be preserved when the user clicks Delete.
If you disable this policy setting, Web sites that the user has visited will be deleted when user clicks Delete.
If you do not configure this policy setting, the user will be able to select whether to delete or preserve Web sites the user has visited when the user clicks Delete.
If the “Turn off Delete Browsing History functionality” policy is enabled, this policy is enabled by default.
Prevent Deleting the History in IE
- Type gpedit.msc in the Start menu’s search box and then press Enter.
Note: This guide shows you how to make changes to Windows 7 using Group Policy. Group Policy is not available in Home versions of Windows 7.
- Navigate to User Configuration, Administrative Templates, Windows Components, Internet Explorer, and then select Delete Browsing History in the left column of the Group Policy editor.
- Double-click Prevent Deleting Web sites that the User has Visited in the Settings section of the Group Policy editor.
- Select Enable and then click OK to save the changes.
Still need help? Ask your computer question now.