Home » Guides » Personalization »

Published on 05.20.09 by Brent Trahan

Set Windows 7 to Not Save Desktop Setting When Exiting

Learn how to set the desktop to not save settings when the computer shuts down in Windows 7.

If you enable this setting, users can change the desktop, but some changes, such as the position of open windows or the size and position of the taskbar, are not saved when users log off. However, shortcuts placed on the desktop are always saved.

Set the Desktop to Not Save Changed Settings

  1. Type gpedit.msc in the Start menu’s search box and then press Enter.

    Note: This guide shows you how to make changes to Windows 7 using Group Policy. Group Policy is not available in Home versions of Windows 7.

  2. Navigate to User Configuration, Administrative Templates, and then select Desktop in the left column of the Group Policy editor.

    dont-save-desktop-settings-on-exit-1

  3. Double-click Don’t save settings at exit in the Settings section of the Group Policy editor.
  4. Select Enable and then click OK to save the changes.

    dont-save-desktop-settings-on-exit-2

Still need help? Ask your computer question now.

Related Guides:

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this guide's comments RSS feed.

Microsoft Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation. Microsoft Corporation in no way endorses or is affiliated with MAXIMUMpcguides.com. All other products mentioned are registered trademarks of their respective companies. MAXIMUMpcguides IS NOT RESPONSIBLE for any damage or data loss to your computer from using this web site. All information on MAXIMUMpcguides is provided on an AS IS basis with NO WARRANTIES.

Copyright 2006-2014 Brent Trahan. All rights reserved.