Home » All | All Categories

Published on 01.26.06 by Brent Trahan

Advanced VNC Settings

Learn how to change the advanced settings of VNC.

Once VNC has been installed there are a few advanced settings you can change. This guide will show you how to change these settings.

Please note: Some of these settings require changing settings inside the Windows registry. Changing settings in this manner can be very dangerous. If you don’t follow directions exactly from this guide harm can be done to your computer.

The VNC Server

Once the VNC server is installed on a computer there are a few settings you can change. To change these settings right-click the VNC icon (shown below) next to the clock and select options.

The first window you see when you open the options in the VNC server is shown below.

You have already setup the options in the Authentication tab when you installed VNC so I won’t go into that section here. If you need help with changing these settings check out the Installing VNC guide.

The Connections tab is where you decide the advanced options of connecting to a remote computer. If you need you can change the port number VNC uses to remote with you can do so next to Accept connections on port. The default is 5900.

You can set how long you want a connection to stay open with no activity (you are not using the computer you are remoted to) next to Disconnect idle clients after (seconds). The default is 3600 seconds which equals 1 hour.

You can remote to a computer with the VNC server running via your web browser. Serve Java viewer via HTTP on port is the setting to change the port number the VNC server will use to let you remote to it with a web browser. You can remote to a computer that has VNC on it by placing in your web browser. Change the IP address to the IP address or computer name of the computer you are remoting to of course.

If you only want the computer you are remoting to to accept connections from one or a select few computers you can add the IP address of the computer(s) you want to allow connections with by checking off Only accept connections from the local machine and click Add to add the IP address of the computer(s) you will be using to remote to that computer.

The Inputs tab controls how the mouse, keyboard, and how the clipboard and screen saver acts while a connection is established. I would just leave these settings alone. There is usually no need to change these settings.

Accept pointer events from client: This option simply sets your ability to move the mouse pointer on the remote computer when you are connected.

Accept keyboard events from client: This option simply sets your ability to use the keyboard on the remote computer when you are connected.

Accept clipboard updates from client: This option sets the ability to copy something to the clipboard on your computer and past it to the remote computer.

Send clipboard updates to client: Enables you to copy something on the remote computer and past it on your computer.

Allow input events to affect the screen saver: Lets your remote computer’s screen saver be affected by you remoting to it.

If you check off Disable local inputs while server is in use when you remote to the computer the mouse and keyboard in front of the remote computer will not work while you are connected to it with VNC.

The Sharing tab lets you set how VNC will treat a connection if someone attempts to remote to a computer that already has someone remoting to it. By default it is set to use the settings of the person remoting to the computer.

If you want more than one person to be able to remote to the computer select Always treat new connections as shared.

If you only want one person remoting to the computer at one time select Never treat new connections as shared.

The Desktop tab lets you control the quality of your experience while remoting to the computer. When a computer is being remoted to the screen has to be captured and sent to the computer you are at many times a second. If you are remoting to a computer within a LAN you can afford to transmit things like the desktop background and interface affects. If you are remoting through an internet connection you might want to not see the desktop background and interface affects.

My suggestion is if you will be remoting to the computer through an internet connection leave the boxes under While Connected checked off. If you are remoting to the computer from within a LAN you can uncheck the boxes under While Connected.

Under When last client disconnects you can choose VNC to do what when the last person disconnects from a remote connection.

The Capture Method and Legacy tabs should be left alone. You pretty much don’t need to worry about those.

If you want to make sure the users on the computers you installed VNC server on don’t change any options or close the VNC server there are a few changes to the registry you can make.

Before you begin: Remember that you are about to edit the registry. Editing the registry can easily harm your computer if not done correctly. If you follow my directions exactly you’ll be fine.

There are two registry keys you can add. One is DisableClose wich disables the ability to close the VNC server service. The other is DisableOptions which disables the ability to change the VNC server options.

To set those options up you need to create a string value for each in the registry. In the example below I’ll show you how to set up a string value for DisableOptions.

First you need to click start and click Run.

In the Run box type regedit.

Click the + sign to the left of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE located at the top left of the registry editor.

Click the + sign to the left of SOFTWARE.

Click the + sign to the left of RealVNC.

Click the folder WinVNC4 under RealVNC.

Right-click in an empty space in the big pane on the right and point at New then click String Value.

Notice the new String Value created called New Value #1. Rename it to DisableOptions. (right-click and select rename)
Once you renamed the new String Value to DisableOptions double-click DisableOptions and type true in the Value Data box and click OK.

That’s it!

The VNC Viewer

Below are a few setting you can change in the VNC Viewer. Most of these settings will override the settings set on the computer you are remoting to.

Click Options in the VNC Viewer window.

The first tab is Colour & Encoding. You can change how many colors you want to be displayed when remoting to a computer. The more colors VNC displays the more bandwidth it will use. I recommend 256 colors if you are remoting through the internet and all available colors when remoting across a LAN.

The next tab is Inputs. These settings are the same as the inputs tab I talked about above. Changing these settings will override the settings on the computer you are remoting to.

The last tab with settings is the Misc. tab.

Shared connection: When this box is checked off you won’t disconnect someone who is already connected to the remote computer you are connecting to.

Full Screen Mode: If the screen resolution of the remote computer is the same as your computer you can check this box off and when you connect to the remote computer your screen will be exactly as if you were sitting in front of the remote computer.

Render curser locally: Leave this checked. It makes the mouse move better on the remote computer.

Alloy dynamic desktop resizing: Just leave this checked off.

Only use protocol version 3.3: Why would you want to use an old protocol? Leave this one unchecked.

Beep when requested by the server: If the computer you are remoting to beeps the computer you are at beeps also.

Offer to automatically reconnect: If you get disconnected it asks you if you want to quickly reconnect.

The Load/Save tab does just that. You can save the current settings to a file by clicking Save As. You can make the current setting the default when you use VNC viewer by clicking Save.

There is one more thing you might need to know. If you need to send a Ctrl+Alt+Del command to the remote computer, right-click on the top of the VNC view window while you are connected to the remote computer and select Send Ctrl+Alt+Del. This will not work in Full Screen mode.

Still need help? Ask your computer question now.

Related Guides:

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this guide's comments RSS feed.

Microsoft Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation. Microsoft Corporation in no way endorses or is affiliated with MAXIMUMpcguides.com. All other products mentioned are registered trademarks of their respective companies. MAXIMUMpcguides IS NOT RESPONSIBLE for any damage or data loss to your computer from using this web site. All information on MAXIMUMpcguides is provided on an AS IS basis with NO WARRANTIES.

Copyright 2006-2016 Brent Trahan. All rights reserved.