Home » All » Customization » Vista » Windows | All Categories

Published on 02.28.07 by Brent Trahan

Stop Recycle Bin Confirmation Prompts

Stop Windows Vista from asking you if you want to send files to the recycle bin when deleted.


OK, I know every time I delete a file it will be placed in the recycle bin encase I want it back. I don’t need to be asked every time I delete a file if I want it in the recycle bin.

This guide shows you how to turn off the prompt you get every time you delete a file asking you if you want to send it to the recycle bin.

Turn Off the Recycle Bin Confirmations

  1. Rick-click the recycle bin and select Properties.
  2. Uncheck Display delete confirmation dialog and then press OK.


Still need help? Ask your computer question now.

Related Guides:

3 Responses to “Stop Recycle Bin Confirmation Prompts”

Subscribe to this guide's comments RSS feed.

  1. Hal says:

    Great — but in Vista Home Premium on a new HP laptop, unchecking the “display delete confirmation dialog” doesn’t actually work.

  2. Brent Trahan says:

    Are you sure? I’ve done it on many computers running Windows Vista Home Premium, Business, and Ultimate additions and never had a problem.

  3. vel says:

    Hi I’m have the same problem as Hal
    I bought my HP Pavilion laptop a few months ago, with Vista Home Premium pre-installed.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to this guide's comments RSS feed.

Microsoft Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation. Microsoft Corporation in no way endorses or is affiliated with MAXIMUMpcguides.com. All other products mentioned are registered trademarks of their respective companies. MAXIMUMpcguides IS NOT RESPONSIBLE for any damage or data loss to your computer from using this web site. All information on MAXIMUMpcguides is provided on an AS IS basis with NO WARRANTIES.

Copyright 2006-2016 Brent Trahan. All rights reserved.